Pubblicato il

Oslo Agreement Area A B C

The agreements led to the formation of a transitional Palestinian government, the Palestinian Authority (PA), which enjoyed limited governance powers in Areas A and B. The Oslo II agreements divided the West Bank into three units: Zones A, B and C. The different territories were granted a different status based on the amount of autonomy that local Palestinians would have through the Palestinian Authority until a final status agreement was reached. These include all major cities and their immediate surroundings, with the exception of Jewish Hebron, which in 1997 was under the exclusive control of Israel in the Hebron Protocol between Israel and the PLO. This area covers about 18 per cent of the land mass of Judea and Samaria. The Jordan Valley is considered the most fertile country in the West Bank and has proved lucrative for Israeli companies that have long exploited the country and the region`s resources. The Palestinian Authority takes administrative control of Area B, but shares security control with the Israeli authorities. The majority of Palestinians in the West Bank live in Areas A or B. “Area C” refers to areas of the West Bank outside of Areas A and B which, with the exception of issues negotiated in the permanent status negotiations, are gradually transferred to the Palestinian jurisdiction, in accordance with this agreement. Zone B (Palestinian civilian control and common Israeli-Palestinian security control): first about 23-25% (first phase, 1995). [6] In 2013, Area B officially included about 22% of the West Bank.

[1] This area includes about 440 Palestinian villages and their surrounding territories, not Israeli settlements. [9] It was defined in the agreement as “populated areas demarcated by a red line and shaded in yellow on map 1 attached and the built-up area of the hamlets listed in Schedule I”; The list of hamlets is as follows: in accordance with the Oslo Agreements, Area A is under administrative control and Palestinian police. Although control of part of this area was to be transferred to the Palestinian Authority in 1999, in accordance with the Oslo agreements, the transfer did not take place and security, planning and construction issues were left in Israel`s hands.