Pubblicato il

Department Of State Open Skies Agreement

Each state can carry out as many observation flights – its active quota – as its passive quota. [2] In the first three years after entry into force, each state was required not to accept more than seventy-five percent of its passive quota. Since the overall annual observation rate for the United States is 42, this means that it was required to accept no more than 31 observation flights per year during this three-year period. In 2005, only two flights over the United States were requested by the Russian Federation and the Republic of Belarus by the group of States parties (which acts as a unit for the purpose of allocating quotas). The United States is entitled to 8 of the 31 annual flights over Russia and Belarus. In addition, the United States is entitled to a flight over Ukraine, which will be shared with Canada. .